Connect with us

Philadelphia Flyers

Oskar Lindblom named Masterton Trophy finalist after battling cancer



Oskar Lindblom

Philadelphia Flyers forward Oskar Lindblom keeps on battling. On Tuesday, Lindblom was named a finalist for the Bill Masterson Memorial Trophy.

Lindblom is one of three finalists for the Masterson Trophy, which is awarded annually to the player who best embodies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to the game of hockey.

Lindblom is joined by Minnesota Wild defenseman Matt Dumba and San Jose Sharks forward Patrick Marleau as the three finalists for the Masterson.

Here is the full press release from the Flyers:

On May 10, the Philadelphia Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA) chose Lindblom as the Flyers nominee to the NHL. This is the second consecutive year he has been named a finalist, having also been nominated by the PHWA Philadelphia chapter last season.
Lindblom returned for a full season with the Flyers this year, appearing in 50 of the team’s 56 games and recorded 14 points (8g-6a) and averaged 13:11 of ice time, after being diagnosed with Ewing’s sarcoma by leading specialists at the University of Pennsylvania in December of 2019.
Prior to the diagnosis in 2019-20, Lindblom was in the midst of a breakout season. He was tied for the team lead in goals (11) and recorded 18 points (11g-7a) in 30 games. He returned to the team in the NHL bubble for the 2020 Stanley Cup Playoffs and appeared in Games 6 and 7 of the Second Round vs. NY Islanders.
The winner of the Masterton is selected by a poll among the 31 chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season and is revealed during the NHL Awards Show. Ottawa Senators forward Bobby Ryan, who entered the NHL/NHL Players’ Association player assistance program for issues with alcohol abuse and returned to finish the season with the Senators, won the award in 2019-20.
Only three Flyers have taken home the award in franchise history. Most recently Ian Laperriere won the award in 2010. Bob Clarke (1972) and Tim Kerr (1989) were also previous winners.
The trophy was presented by the NHL Writers’ Association in 1968 to commemorate the late Bill Masterton, a player with the Minnesota North Stars, who exhibited to a high degree the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey, and who died January 15, 1968.

Lindblom deserves all of the recognition he has received and continues to receive. Battling cancer and returning to play less than a year later is an accomplishment that should be celebrated.

Lindblom was extremely proud of himself this season and can’t wait for the energy that a full crowd brings next season. This season, Lindblom showed his heart on the ice with his first career fight. He was also celebrated throughout the Flyers’ Hockey Fights Cancer night.

Oskar Strong: Flyers honor Oskar Lindblom on Hockey Fights Cancer night
Oskar Lindblom overcome with emotions on Hockey Fights Cancer night

Photo: Heather Barry Images

Get PhHN in Your Inbox

Enter your email address to get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox.

Flyers Cap Info

Copyright © 2023 National Hockey Now and Philadelphia Hockey Now. In no way affiliated with the Philadelphia Flyers or the National Hockey League.