Connect with us

Philadelphia Flyers

Flyers nominate Laughton for NHL award



Scott Laughton. (AP Photo/Derik Hamilton)
Scott Laughton

Forward Scott Laughton is the Flyers’ nominee for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy, the NHL announced Tuesday.

The award goes “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community,” according to a release from the NHL.

The winner and two runners-up from among the 32 nominees will be selected by a committee led by commissioner Gary Bettman and deputy commissioner Bill Daly.

Criteria for the winner is:

  • Clear and measurable positive impact on the community
  • Investment of time and resources
  • Commitment to a particular cause or community
  • Commitment to the league’s community initiatives
  • Creativity of programming
  • Use of influence; engagement of others

The winner will receive a $25,000 donation for a charity of his choice. The runners-up will receive a $5,000 donation for the charity of his choice.

Laughton has played 10 seasons, all with the Flyers. He was the 20th overall draft pick in 2012. He has played 519 games and scored 82 goals and 117 assists.

“It’s a huge honor for myself to be very involved in the community where I was drafted, grown up, and now live,” Laughton said in a statement released by the Flyers.

“A lot of credit goes to my wife, Chloe, who’s such a big part of this. The nomination is something that means a lot to me and I’m very grateful because Philadelphia has given me so much and I want to always give back. Giving back, being a part of this community and to be a voice for various groups and organizations, I take great pride in it, and I believe is part of our responsibility.”

Said interim general manager Daniel Brière in a statement: “It’s well deserved to see Scott be named our Flyers nominee for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy. I was really happy with how Scott played this season and how he emerged as a leader in the locker room, both on and off the ice, especially leading the way for our younger group of guys. His dedication to the city of Philadelphia and surrounding communities is unmatched and an honor to watch him connect with so many of our great fans.”

The other nominees:

  • Kevin Shattenkirk, Ducks
  • Travis Boyd, Coyotes
  • Patrice Bergeron, Bruins
  • Alex Tuch, Sabres
  • Mikael Backlund, Flames
  • Jordan Stall, Hurricanes
  • Connor Murphy, Blackhawks
  • Devon Toews, Avalanche
  • Zach Werenski, Blue Jackets
  • Jason Robertson, Stars
  • Dylan Larkin, Red Wings
  • Darnell Nurse, Oilers
  • Aleksander Barkov, Panthers
  • Mikey Anderson, Kings
  • Matt Dumba, Wild
  • Jordan Harris, Canadiens
  • Juuse Saros, Predators
  • Jack Hughes, Devils
  • Anders Lee, Islanders
  • Jacob Trouba, Rangers
  • Brady Tkachuk, Senators
  • Evgeni Malkin, Penguins
  • Luke Kunin, Sharks
  • Chris Driedger, Kraken
  • Brayden Schenn, Blues
  • Victor Hedman, Lightning
  • Morgan Reilly, Maple Leafs
  • Elias Pettersson, Canucks
  • Reilly Smith, Golden Knights
  • Tom Wilson, Capitals
  • Blake Wheeler, Jets

The trophy was first awarded in 1988 in honor of Frank “King” Clancy, a three-time Stanley Cup champion, referee, coach, manager and goodwill ambassador.

Fans have until June 27 to contribute to some of the charitable causes supported by the nominees. Go to: for more information. Fans who donate will be entered for prize experiences provided by each player.

Get PHHN+ today!

Get PhHN in Your Inbox

Enter your email address to get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox.

Flyers Cap Info

Copyright © 2023 National Hockey Now and Philadelphia Hockey Now. In no way affiliated with the Philadelphia Flyers or the National Hockey League.