Connect with us

Philadelphia Flyers

Flyers Team Awards: Couturier takes home two, Farabee most improved, and more



Joel Farabee, Philadelphia Flyers

The Philadelphia Flyers announced the winners of their team awards prior to the final game of the season on Monday night.

It’s been a long and disappointing season, but it’s always nice to go out on a high note and recognize some of the best players of the season.

Let’s get right into it.

Barry Ashbee Trophy

Winner: Ivan Provorov

Ivan Provorov won the Barry Ashbee Trophy, awarded to the Flyers’ top defenseman, for the second consecutive season. Provorov has played in all 55 games this season. He has 26 points (seven goals, 16 assists) while averaging a team-high 25:02 of ice time per game.

Who should have won?

In all honesty, there weren’t a ton of choices here. If there was a season to not award the Barry Ashbee Trophy, this would be it.

With that being said, Provorov is a fine recipient. He plays in all situations and is a workhorse. However, he had another down season this year and seemed to be lost at times without a consistent presence with him on the top pair.

I probably would’ve given the award to Provorov. Shayne Gostisbehere played extremely well in spurts, but also had plenty of defensive lapses. Justin Braun was solid, especially in the mid-to-end of the season, but wasn’t spectacular by any means.

Provorov is the default here as the team’s No. 1 defenseman playing 25 minutes a night.

Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy

Winner: Joel Farabee

Joel Farabee won the Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy. This trophy is voted on by the players and awarded to the Flyer who is deemed as the most improved player

Farabee leads the Flyers in goals with 18 and also has 18 assists for 36 points in just 54 games. He has taken a huge step forward after recording 21 points (eight goals, 13 assists) in 52 games during his rookie season.

Who should have won?

Joel Farabee was the slam-dunk choice here. He has been the Flyers’ most consistent player, even with a few dry spells. A few of the veteran guys have put up points, but no one has had the drastic improvement that Farabee has had this season.

Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award

Winner: James van Riemsdyk

James van Riemsdyk won the Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award, which is given to the “Flyer who best illustrates character, dignity and respect for the sport both on and off the ice” as decided by the Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

JVR has 16 goals and 26 assists for 42 points in 55 games this season. Like Provorov, he has not missed a game. He is in second in points on the team, behind only Jakub Voracek with 43.

Who should have won?

James van Riemsdyk was a constant presence in the lineup after being written off in the offseason, so there’s not too much to complain about here.

Toyota Cup

Winner: Claude Giroux

Claude Giroux earned his seventh career Toyota Cup as the Flyer who accumulated the most points associated with being selected as a “Star of the Game.”

It’s a well-deserved award for Giroux who had a huge hand in a lot of the Flyers’ wins and comeback attempt this season.

Who should have won?

The winner of the Toyota Cup is just calculated based off the Three Stars of the Game. Giroux had four three-point games and eight two-point games this season.

Gene Hart Memorial Award

Winner: Sean Couturier

Sean Couturier won the Gene Hart Memorial Award, given to the player who demonstrated the most “Heart” during the season as voted on by members of the Flyers Fan Club.

Couturier has 39 points (17 goals, 22 assists) in just 44 games this season. He missed time at the beginning of the year with an injury and it looked like he had something nagging at him throughout the season. Nevertheless, Couturier was constantly on the top line and playing in all situations.

Who should have won?

There’s really no metric to go off of for this award, but Oskar Lindblom would’ve been a solid choice given his story.

Bobby Clarke Trophy

Winner: Sean Couturier

Sean Couturier won his third consecutive Bobby Clarke Trophy, which is awarded to the Flyers’ Most Valuable Player as voted on by a panel of sports writers and broadcasters.

As mentioned above for the Hart Memorial Award, Couturier was a constant atop the lineup after returning from his injury. His 39 points in 44 games would be a 72-point pace in a full 82-game season. On top of that, Couturier is one of the best two-way forwards in the game.

Who should have won?

Couturier is a good choice for team MVP. He’s the team’s top-line center and is cemented in that spot in the lineup as long as he is healthy –– or able to play, I should say.

For me, it would’ve been neck-and-neck between Couturier and Giroux for the award. Giroux put the team on his back in a few wins this season, but I’m not going to complain about Couturier winning team MVP.

Get PHHN+ today!

Copyright © 2023 National Hockey Now and Philadelphia Hockey Now. In no way affiliated with the Philadelphia Flyers or the National Hockey League.