Connect with us

Philadelphia Flyers

Flyers Set Opening-Night Roster; Four Rookies Earn Spots



Rasmus Ristolainen, Philadelphia Flyers
Big defenseman Rasmus Ristolainen will start the season on the injured-reserve list. The Flyers are carrying seven defensemen. Photo: AP.

The Philadelphia Flyers got down to 23 players for their season-opening roster Monday by placing defenseman Rasmus Ristolainen on the injured-reserve list.

Philly will carry 23 players: seven defensemen, 13 forwards, and three goaltenders.

The roster includes rookies Tyson Foerster, Bobby Brink, Emil Andrae, and Sam Ersson.

Ristolainen, who turns 29 on Oct. 27, missed Thursday’s preseason finale against the New York Islanders but practiced Saturday. Coach John Tortorella said his injury was minor, so it’s surprising he will not start the season with the team.

Here is the roster:

Forwards (13): Cam Atkinson, Brink, Noah Cates, Sean Couturier, Nick Deslauriers, Joel Farabee, Foerster, Morgan Frost, Garnet Hathaway, Travis Konecny, Scott Laughton, Ryan Poehling, and Owen Tippett.

Defensemen (7): Andrae, Travis Sanheim, Nick Seeler, Marc Staal, Sean Walker, Cam York, and Egor Zamula.

Goaltenders (3): Ersson, Carter Hart, Felix Sandstrom.

PHN: For Flyers’ Versatile Winger Owen Tippett, Left is All Right

Besides Ristolainen, defensemen Ryan Ellis was placed on IR, and his career has likely ended. Forward J.R. Avon is on injured non-roster list.

Of the 23 players on the roster, 14 were drafted by the Philadelphia Flyers, six were signed as free agents, and three were acquired via trades.

The Flyers open their season Thursday in Columbus. They will practice Tuesday and Wednesday in Voorhees at 11 a.m. both days.

Get PhHN in Your Inbox

Enter your email address to get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox.

Copyright © 2023 National Hockey Now and Philadelphia Hockey Now. In no way affiliated with the Philadelphia Flyers or the National Hockey League.